Travel news

Travel news

Vietnam to grant e-visa to the citizens of 80 countries
Saturday, 30 May 2020

From the beginning of July, residents from 80 countries worldwide will be allowed to enter Vietnam using e-visas.

According to the Vietnam Immigration Department, citizens from 80 countries worldwide will be allowed to enter Vietnam using e-visas from the beginning of July, 2020. Australia and New Zealand are in the list. The government also revealed a list of border gates and airports, which allow foreigners to enter and exit with e-visa.

What is Vietnam’s e-Visa?

Vietnam’s e-Visa is one of several visa types offered by the Vietnam Immigration Department to foreigners entering the country. The e-Visa is valid for 30 days, and single entry only. The e-Visa costs 25 USD for card payments. It requires three full working days to process.

Who Are Eligible for Vietnam E-visa?

The full list of countries eligible for Vietnam e-visa:

Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China (including Hong Kong SAR and Macau SAR passport holders; not apply to Chinese e-passport holders), Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Myanmar, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The United States of America (U.S.), Timor Leste, United Arab Emirates (UAE), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (U.K.), Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Western Samoa.

What is the requirement for Vietnam e-Visa?

A passport with six (6) months’ validity

A photo in .jpg format of your full passport data page

A passport photo in .jpg format (4×6, white background, without glasses)

A valid international credit or debit card

An email address for support purposes

A temporary address within Vietnam

Your entry and exit dates and entry and exit points/airports

How to Apply for Vietnam’s e-Visa?

Open the Vietnam Immigration Department official website for Vietnam’s e-Visa Application at:

Upload .jpg images of your passport data page and passport photo

Fill up all required info from your passport data page

Fill up all required info regarding your trip

Pay the e-Visa fee using any of the payment methods offered

Receive your registration code and save the number

Tip: Be sure to save your registration number – You will need to check and download your e-visa later on. 

How can I check my e-Visa result?

To check an e-Visa result, follow these steps:

Vist the page:

Provide the required information, including registration code, email and date of birth, to check and print your e-Visa result.

Please be noted that, (i) Registration code must be saved in order to check and print e-Visa; and (ii) No email will be sent regarding e-Visa results.

After applying for your e-Visa online, you’ll need to wait three working days for your visa to be released. After three days, you may search for your visa at this link.

Here is the list of border gates, those you can get into Vietnam by road, by air and by water ways.

08 Airports

Noi Bai International Airport in Hanoi Capital city

Tan Son Nhat International Airport in Ho Chi Minh City

Cam Ranh International Airport in Nha Trang City of Khanh Hoa Province

Da Nang International Airport in Da Nang city

Cat Bi International Airport in Hai Phong city

Can Tho International Airport in Mekong Delta

Phu Quoc International Airport in Phu Quoc Island of Kien Giang Province

Phu Bai International Airport in Hue city

16 Border Gates

Tay Trang (Dien Bien province); Mong Cai (Quang Ninh province); Huu Nghi/ Friendship (Lang Son province); Lao Cai (Lao Cai province); Na Meo (Thanh Hoa); Nam Can (Nghe An province); Cau Treo (Ha Tinh province), Cha Lo (Quang Binh province); Laban, Lao Bao (Quang Tri province);  Bo Y (Kon Tum province); Moc Bai, Xa Mat (Tay Ninh province); Tinh Bien, Song Tien (An Giang province); Ha Tien (Kien Giang province).

13 Sea Ports

Hon Gai, Cam Pha (Quang Ninh province); Hai Phong (Hai Phong city); Nghi Son (Thanh Hoa); Vung Ang (Ha Tinh province); Chan May Port (Thua Thien Hue province); Da Nang (Da Nang city); Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa province); Quy Nhon (Binh Dinh province); Dung Quat (Quang Ngai province); Vung Tau (Ba Ria-Vung Tau province); Ho Chi Minh city; Duong Dong in Phu Quoc Island (Kien Giang Province).

For questions about the new policy, you should call Vietnam’s Immigration Department at +8424 3938 7320 or visit one of these offices.

Immigration office in Hanoi: 44-46 Tran Phu, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi

Immigration office in Da Nang: 78 Le Loi, Hai Chau District, Da Nang

Immigration office in Ho Chi Minh city: 196 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, District 3, Ho Chi Minh city

Working hours: Monday-Friday (Morning: 7am – 11h30am; Afternoon: 1h30pm – 5pm) and Saturday (Morning time only)

Source: Vietnam News Agency, Vietnam Insider